where to start?

September 23, 2010

So this is another first for me, starting a blog. The other first is getting engaged and the reason i’m starting this blog. I decided to share with you the process i’ll be going through, in order to design and make my own fabulous wedding band.
I’ve said those words a lot in the past week. I dont like wearing really wide rings and i dont like the look of narrow rings on my hand, so i’m left with one option really, one ring.

Some people reckon I should be wearing an engagement ring, because i’m in the business of designing/making/selling them. And they’re kinda right. So what will probably happen is that i’ll wear my fabulous ring on my right hand first and then when we tie the know, switch over to my left hand. This is a nod to my time spent in Holland, well a good excuse to wear it before the wedding anyway.

I’ve made a few phonecalls and spoken to some of my stone dealers, so we’ll see what will be coming my way in the next few weeks. It’s nice to not be in a rush and to have time to look at stones and decide when i find whats right for me, and not just suitable at the time.

My initial thoughts are to go with an “old cut” diamond, this is a diamond that isnt a perfect cut, and although the name suggests they are old, Victorian, most these days are modern reproductions. They were cut before the modern brilliant cut was designed and they can have a softer look about them. The other option that I’m leaning towards is a cushion cut.

So I’ll wait and see what arrives and then it’ll be down to business and try to come up with a design.

7 Responses to “where to start?”

  1. Beth Says:

    Hi Aoife! Congratulations again 🙂
    I’m looking forward to seeing your ring design come to life here – great idea! I really like the thought of wearing the ring on the right hand up to the wedding and then changing over, that’s lovely.

  2. frequency decoder Says:

    Oh – a blog & a twitter account!

    What next, Javascript development?

    I shall tell Anne you have a blog – she will be most happy/impressed I’m sure.

    Good luck with the wedding ring. I still have to ask you to do my own but perhaps that can wait until I’m in Ireland next!

  3. Peter Says:

    Hey… daar is de Blog! Cool man. Ben benieuwd waar je op uitkomt.

    Good luck!


  4. i love wedding rings that are studded with diamonds and emerald, they are expensive and priceless too “


  5. diamond engagement rings will be always be the best stuff. it has great style and it is priceless .,*


  6. of course, diamond rings would always be the best type of wedding rings that you can give your wife *“


Leave a Reply

